Squiz Today

By Squiz Media

The Squiz is your shortcut to the news. Published each weekday at 6.00am, our daily news podcast is designed to fit into your morning routine – perfect for the commute, the gym or over a coffee. Sign up to the email and podcast at https://thesquiz.com.au/signup/.

  1. 1.
    Friday, 17 September: Australia's submarine deal; Understanding unemployment; Russia goes to the polls; And claiming the crown for #1 song...
    9:17
  2. 2.
    Thursday, 16 September - Canva's big valuation; Australia's new defence pact; Civilians head to space; and unpacking Australia's borders
    9:42
  3. 3.
    Wednesday, 15 September - A record breaking season for Aussie farmers; The new iphone; Citizenship for Quade Cooper; and loos for moo cows
    10:33
  4. 4.
    Tuesday, 14 September - Aid for Afghanistan; Your Digital Passenger Declaration; Medvedev takes out Djokovic's record chances; and a cruise to nowhere
    10:41
  5. 5.
    Monday, 13 September: Questions linger from 9/11; Another COVID vaccine deal; Serving Prince Andrew; And upside down rhinos...
    10:44
  6. 6.
    Friday, 10 September: 20 years on from 9/11; The road outta of lockdown for NSW; Cricket Australia's stand against the Taliban; And a new hobby....
    8:37
  7. 7.
    Thursday, 9 September - A landmark liability ruling; The Taliban bans women in sport; Freeing Britney; and checking in on your mates
    8:57
  8. 8.
    Wednesday, 8 September - Drama over vaccine allocations; Afghanistan's new government; Bringing wombats back; and 35 years of Oprah
    10:08
  1. 9.
    Tuesday, 7 September - The missing NSW boy is found; Acting on violence against women; Resisting the Taliban; And the holiday blues
    9:21
  2. 10.
    Monday, 6 September: A terror attack in New Zealand; Searching for AJ; Breaking the Prince's trust; And farewell to the Paralympics...
    10:35
  3. 11.
    Friday, 3 September: The Aussie flag's big day; Texas and abortion laws; Closing the curtain on the Paralympics; and don't forget your Dad...
    9:45
  4. 12.
    Thursday, 2 September - An update on the economy; Biden's new focus; Millions without power in Louisiana; and mumbling men
    10:35
  5. 13.
    Wednesday, 1 September - Testing times for superannuation; The Bali bombing suspects are on trial; China cracks down on video games; and cheering on the Belles...
    10:18
  6. 14.
    Tuesday, 31 August - Devastation from Hurrican Ida; A grim COVID milestone; US troops officially withdraw; and one long, long jetski ride...
    9:37
  7. 15.
    Monday, 30 August: Kabul's evacuation deadline; Hurricane Ida makes landfall; Keeping it cas; And a new pizza contender...
    10:44
  8. 16.
    Friday, 27 August: National Cabinet's to-do list; Terror attacks around Kabul airport; The Super Netball grand final; And come on Steelers...
    8:59
  9. 17.
    Thursday, 26 August - The evacuation countdown in Afghanistan; Covid passports; Perth on footy finals standby; and a singing scandal
    15:36
  10. 18.
    Wednesday, 25 August - Delta on the global stage; Biden says no to an extension; Profiling Ellie Cole; and watch out for the magpies
    9:35
  11. 19.
    Tuesday, 24 August - Prepping for the Paralympics; The lockdown debates continue; Sanctions for Afghanistan; and dating in a pandemic
    10:21
  12. 20.
    Monday, 23 August: Protests as COVID cases climb; An update on Afghanistan; Malaysia's new Prime Minister; And bring on the Paralympics...
    10:40
  13. 21.
    Friday, 20 August: Understanding employment; Ramping up our rollout; More violence in Afghanistan; And what we view on Facebook...
    9:31
  14. 22.
    Thursday, 19 August - Jabs for kids are on the cards; The first of many evacuation flights; R Kelly goes on trial; and invoking the Magna Carta
    9:58
  15. 23.
    Wednesday, 18 August - The Taliban make promises; 10 million jabs; Bob Dylan is sued for sexual abuse; and put your Soduku's out...
    9:34
  16. 24.
    Tuesday, 17 August - Desperate scenes in Afghanistan; Canada heads to the polls; Rethinking your metabolism; and the smart reason behind silly names
    10:22
  17. 25.
    Monday, 16 August: Afghanistan's government has collapsed; An earthquake in Haiti; Breaking records; And learnings from lockdown...
    10:23
  18. 26.
    Friday, 13 August: Looking after remote Australia; Breaking records in Italy; Work from home with an asterisk; And understanding the smiley face emoji...
    9:50
  19. 27.
    Thursday, 12 August - NSW's vaccination timeframe; The Taliban gains ground; Bitcoin heats up; and karaoke cleans up...
    15:23
  20. 28.
    Wednesday, 11 August - Record Covid numbers in NSW; The carbon emissions blame game; A lawsuit against Prince Andrew; and roaming elephants...
    10:14
  21. 29.
    Tuesday, 10 August - The 'code red' climate change report; A third vaccine for Australia; Netball and the Olympics; and Happy Census Day
    10:47
  22. 30.
    Monday, 9 August: Farewell Tokyo; More COVID lockdowns; Gaining ground in Afghanistan; And applying to live on Mars...
    9:50
  23. 31.
    Friday, 6 August - More snap lockdowns; Compensation for the Stolen Generation; Vale Brian Henderson, and the unexpected plus side to turning sixty
    14:17
  24. 32.
    Thursday, 5 August - The US and Indonesia get serious; A million-dollar payout; Rihanna makes billionaire status; and Doctor Barbie...
    9:45
  25. 33.
    Wednesday, 4 August - Changing vaccine priorities; The Taliban gains ground; No more paying for pay phones; and dancing for your brain
    10:51
  26. 34.
    Tuesday, 3 August: Payday for Afterpay; Property prices run out of steam; Sprinting to safety; And putting a price tag on the priceless...
    14:20
  27. 35.
    Monday, 2 August: Australia's golden record; A good word for members of the Bali 9; Suing streaming; And a royal price tag...
    14:46
  28. 36.
    Friday, 30 July: An Olympic covid-scare for the Aussies; Making lockdowns a thing of the past; AI the inventor; And where to survive the apocalypse...
    10:05
  29. 37.
    Thursday, 29 July - More money for those in lockdown; Action on climate change; Big Tech and big profits; and getting the hang of Twitter
    15:21
  30. 38.
    Wednesday, 28 July - America and Iraq; Sydney's lockdown extended; Tesla's big profits, and golden potato chips...
    10:54
  31. 39.
    Tuesday, 27 July: Ariarne Titmus grabs gold; New rules at Parliament House; Airstrikes continue in Afghanistan; And spotting a western quoll…
    14:28
  32. 40.
    Monday, 26 July: New advice on COVID vaccines; High temperatures test the Middle East; All eyes on the Olympics; And the new ice cream on the block...
    14:11
  33. 41.
    Friday, 23 July: The Olympics are upon us; Talking vaccination rates; Avoiding the 'in danger' list; And welcome the Tokyo Sprint...
    13:21
  34. 42.
    Thursday, 22 July - And the winner is Brisbane; Taking responsibility for the vaccine rollout; A wet spring is on the way; And bad news for bacon lovers
    15:53
  35. 43.
    Wednesday, 21 July - Counting the cost of lockdowns; Harvey Weinstein faces more sexual assault charges; Tokyo 2021 starts for the Aussies; and sexy beasts...
    15:27
  36. 44.
    Tuesday, 20 July: Ramping up our vaccine rollout; China is blamed for a major hack; Rental prices on the up; And getting ready for take off...
    10:13
  37. 45.
    Monday, 19 July: New COVID restrictions for NSW; Wild weather up north; A back-to-back win; And making yeet official...
    14:20
  38. 46.
    Friday, 16 July: Continuing the lockdowns; Getting world leaders together; DIY medal ceremonies in Tokyo; And light and fluffy...
    9:31
  39. 47.
    Thursday, 15 July - Masks on for Victorians; The BNPL market is getting crowded; Kayla Itsines sells her SWEAT app; and naming Generation Alpha...
    10:13
  40. 48.
    Wednesday, 14 July - Financial support for those in lockdown; Wargames are on; Riots in South Africa; and one very lucky escape...
    8:55
  41. 49.
    Tuesday, 13 July: Triple digits in NSW; More on Haiti's murder plot; Black Widow breaks box records; And tiny house living...
    10:28
  42. 50.
    Monday, 12 July: More COVID trouble in Sydney; Going to the edge of space; Celebrating Ash Barty; And we're hiring...
    10:46

Listen to Squiz Today now.

Listen to Squiz Today in full in the Spotify app