Squiz Kids

By Squiz Media

Squiz Kids is a news podcast, just for kids. Published each weekday at 7 am, it's an 8 minutes of age-appropriate news delivered with positivity and humour. We won’t shy away from the hard news stories, but in the usual Squiz tone we'll approach it with positivity, humour, and without opinion. So make it part of your daily routine by whacking it on over breakfast, during the drive to school, or for all the Squiz teachers out there, in the classroom. Squiz Kids is proudly supported by the Judith Nielsen Institute for Journalism and Ideas. Want a birthday shoutout? Email us at squizkids@thesquiz.com.au, or visit https://www.squizkids.com.au/Want more things Squiz? Check out The Squiz Today - a free weekday email and podcast for big people - check it out at www.thesquiz.com.au

  1. 1.
    Tuesday, March 9 - Girls are beating boys at school; Raccoons v. humans in Canada; the greatest dog race on Earth; and holidaying in space.
    8:30
  2. 2.
    Monday, March 8 - Inside a right royal affair; the mystery of the flying ship; a good day to be a Kiwi; and zoo animals enjoy the snow.
    8:48
  3. 3.
    Friday, March 5 - Protests in Myanmar; Cats saved by Thai navy; Aussie netball’s big weekend; and another rocket bites the dust.
    9:40
  4. 4.
    Thursday, March 4 - Bee stings beat snake bites; NZ’s glow-in-the-dark sharks; Tennis demon does a road runner; and saving the platypus.
    9:45
  5. 5.
    Wednesday, March 3 - Cyclone hits Queensland; kid plays Fortnite for cash; State Of Origin heads to Adelaide; and introducing the Froot Loops pizza.
    9:44
  6. 6.
    Tuesday, March 2 - Plastics banned in SA; the ice snake of Denver; Aussie tennis star wins a major; and the Black Panther wins big.
    9:35
  7. 7.
    Monday, March 1 - More vaccines to the rescue; the iceberg as big as a city; Operation turtle rescue; and Peppa Pig gets a fun park.
    10:06
  8. 8.
    Friday, February 26 - Australia flexes its soft power muscles; a Fiji rugby serenade; fridges for humanity; and the world’s wooliest sheep.
    9:39
  1. 9.
    Thursday, February 25 - Brissie in Olympics box seat; Japan’s robot city; the seat belt that saved Tiger Woods; and Skipper the miracle puppy.
    9:09
  2. 10.
    Squiz Kids Q+A with Sam Moran
    14:52
  3. 11.
    Wednesday, February 24 - Facebook backs down; cool videos direct from Mars; when a Tassie Tiger is a wallaby; and Japan’s totally nude festival.
    9:07
  4. 12.
    Tuesday, February 23 - The fight against fake news; French schools ban meat; how to clone a ferret; and Max the Miracle Dog gets a medal.
    9:15
  5. 13.
    Monday, February 22 - Let the vaccine roll-out begin! Teacher rows solo across Atlantic; all hail tennis’ Naomi Osaka; and flying a helicopter on Mars.
    9:23
  6. 14.
    Friday February 19 - How kids fight off COVID; Mars rover lands today; Facebook picks a fight; and your chance to join a boy band.
    9:55
  7. 15.
    Thursday, February 18 - Back to school for Vic kids; Italian volcano erupts; Ash Barty crashes out; and chocolate in the mail.
    8:37
  8. 16.
    Wednesday, February 17 - It’s V-day for Victoria; Panther on the loose in Italy; Thundersnow in America; and bye-bye laughing emoji.
    8:30
  9. 17.
    Tuesday, February 16 - Vaccine touchdown; Stonehenge has been moved; a baby on the way for Harry and Megs; and what lemurs can teach us about love.
    9:33
  10. 18.
    Monday, February 15 - COVID vaccine for kids; Earthquake in Japan; Dylan Alcott chases seventh tennis crown; and goats to the rescue!
    9:11
  11. 19.
    Friday, February 12 - Quick COVID update; the castaways who survived by eating rats; Kokkinakis gives it his all; and the whale poo worth more than gold.
    9:48
  12. 20.
    Thursday, February 11 - Trump on trial; flying cars in China; Tennis champ’s cut-price tee; and BTS unplugged.
    8:57
  13. 21.
    Wednesday, February 10 - Facebook fights fake news; Mars probes arrive; Thor’s mega-eating plan; and how poo protects the reef.
    9:51
  14. 22.
    Tuesday, February 9 - Heroes at the Australian Open; ice skating Amsterdam’s canals; Old man stars at Super Bowl; and puppies playing footy!
    10:06
  15. 23.
    Monday, February 8 - Flood waters rise in WA; the island that turned purple; bumper day of sport; and here comes the Puppy Bowl!
    9:10
  16. 24.
    Friday, February 5 - The tennis will go on!; Cactus lady busted in NZ; Collingwood players say sorry; and Taylor Swift in theme park tussle.
    9:02
  17. 25.
    Thursday, February 4 - Rocket crash a great success; it’s Groundhog Day ... again; Ben Simmons is a Boomer; and pups go wild for doggy pizza.
    9:00
  18. 26.
    Wednesday, February 3 - Fires ravage Perth suburbs; Snow storm brings out pandas; Space flight up for grabs; and the mum who beat the brown snake.
    8:12
  19. 27.
    Tuesday, February 2 - Military coup in Myanmar; 10 year-old has a stock market windfall; Switzerland’s avalanche dog rescuers; and the Queensland school that tricked the internet.
    8:29
  20. 28.
    Monday, February 1 - School cancelled in WA lockdown; dinosaur footprints in Wales; Bluey the rock star; and how wombats talk with their pooh.
    7:39
  21. 29.
    Friday, January 29 - Olympic Games will go on … maybe; Chip-eating parrot too fat to fly; here comes the tennis; and all hail the Cairns croc man!
    9:14
  22. 30.
    Thursday, January 28 - Australia goes 10 days COVID-free; the smartest dogs in the world; AFLW kicks off; and flesh-eating baby dinosaurs.
    7:35
  23. 31.
    Wednesday, January 27 - Girls rule in Oz Day honours; dogs move into White House; it’s spacewalk day; and a clingy panda goes viral.
    9:23
  24. 32.
    Summer S'quiz 4 - The World
    7:41
  25. 33.
    Summer S'quiz 3 - Australia
    7:12
  26. 34.
    Summer S'quiz 2 - Sport
    6:22
  27. 35.
    Summer S'quiz 1 - Pop Culture
    5:23
  28. 36.
    Bumper Kids v Adults Holiday Quiz - 2020
    9:31
  29. 37.
    Squizzie Awards 2020 .... The Funniest, Smelliest, Weirdest, Sportiest, Grossest News Stories Of The Year
    16:44
  30. 38.
    Thursday, December 17 - Talking kangaroos; Fiji’s big cyclone; Addo-Carr’s a Bulldog; and Among Us meets Elf On The Shelf.
    11:02
  31. 39.
    Wednesday, December 16 - Biden’s plea for peace; Argentina’s solar eclipse; the cricket rookie’s Test debut; and BTS win big.
    8:58
  32. 40.
    Tuesday, December 15 - Look out Kiwis, here we come!; Venezuela’s pirate gold; Cody Simpson: Olympian?; and the First Lady stands up for girls.
    9:51
  33. 41.
    Monday, December 14 - Wild weather Monday; China’s flame-throwing hornet drone; Tay Tay and Loki have news; and asteroid showers and kissing planets.
    9:42
  34. 42.
    Friday, December 11 - Rocket crash triumph; Papua New Guinea’s message in a bottle; Cricket’s armpit advertising; and the truth about dogs.
    9:49
  35. 43.
    Thursday, December 10 - Here comes the rain; Kenya’s giraffe rescue; Googling toot paper; and return of the pygmy possum.
    8:49
  36. 44.
    Wednesday, December 9 - Lightning strikes school oval; Japan’s love quest; breakdancing at the Olympics; and it’s Sugar Plum Mary day!
    10:13
  37. 45.
    Q+A with Santa's Elf, Sugar Plum Mary
    12:42
  38. 46.
    Tuesday, December 8 - Brisbane Olympics bid off and racing; Britain keeps it chooks inside; Sam Kerr’s hat-trick; and how to trick an orca.
    8:28
  39. 47.
    Monday, December 7 - Space capsule falls to earth; chicken nuggets from the future; the Wallabies tie again; and All I Want for Christmas is You.
    9:19
  40. 48.
    Friday, December 4 - Koala up a Xmas tree; Kavaan the elephant makes a friend; remote control car races on the Moon; and Drake makes a candle.
    9:13
  41. 49.
    Thursday, December 3 - COVID vaccine breakthrough; the penguins who went to the movies; China lands on the moon; and the most streamed songs of 2020.
    8:47
  42. 50.
    Wednesday, December 2 - Aussie war hero honoured; India’s reptile rope-bridge; counting stars in the outback; Kavaan the elephant’s happy landing.
    9:31

Listen to Squiz Kids now.

Listen to Squiz Kids in full in the Spotify app