Portland, Maine

By Out Of Office

On this episode of Out of Office: A Travel Podcast, Kiernan talks about his favorite New England neighbor: Portland, Maine! Portland offers gorgeous seaside walks, standout restaurants, and plenty of historical and cultural must-dos. Portland is also heaven for the discerning beer-enthusiast. Plus, National Park conspiracies! Things We Talked About:  Quebec City podcast https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/qu%C3%A9bec-city/id1438098925?i=1000463905461  Smithsonian National Postal Museum interview https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/smithsonian-national-postal-museum-with-director/id1438098925?i=1000438061317  Holy Donut https://theholydonut.com/  Duckfat https://www.duckfat.com/  Hugo’s https://www.hugosmaine.com/  Eventide https://www.eventideoysterco.com/  Eventide Cookbook https://www.eventideoysterco.com/shop/eventide-cookbook  The Honey Paw https://www.thehoneypaw.com/  Izakaya Minato https://www.izakayaminato.com/  Nura https://www.nuraportland.com/  Longfellow Books https://www.longfellowbooks.com/  Allagash Brewing Company https://www.allagash.com/  Bissell Brothers https://bissellbrothers.com/  Oxbow Blending and Bottling https://oxbowbeer.com/  Austin Street Brewery https://www.austinstreetbrewery.com/  Lone Pine Brewing Company https://lonepinebrewery.com/  Goodfire Brewing https://www.goodfirebrewing.com/  Breakwater Lighthouse/Bug Light https://www.visitportland.com/blog/2020/03/11/bug-light-park/  Choragic Monument of Lysicrates https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choragic_Monument_of_Lysicrates  Portland Freedom Trail https://www.mainehistory.org/PDF/walkingtourmap.pdf  Eastern Promenade https://easternpromenade.org/the-eastern-promenade  Eastern Promenade Olmsted plan https://www.portlandmaine.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3377/Eastern-Promenade-Master-Plan  Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad https://mainenarrowgauge.org/   West End https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_End_(Portland,_Maine)  Peak’s Island ferry https://www.cascobaylines.com/schedules/peaks-island-schedule/  Peak’s Island https://www.cascobaylines.com/islands/peaks-island-maine/  Casco Bay Mail Boat https://www.cascobaylines.com/maine-boat-tours/specialty-cruises/mailboat/  The Missing 411 National Park conspiracy episode https://skeptoid.com/episodes/4794  Milk Street’s Sweet Corn Cake https://www.177milkstreet.com/recipes/mexican-sweet-corn-cake 

Listen to Portland, Maine now.

Listen to Portland, Maine in full in the Spotify app