This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Episode 034 - Reading Resolutions

By Book Club for Masochists

We give an update on how our reading resolutions for the year are going, talk about recent reads (and watches) we’ve enjoyed, and briefly discuss San Diego Comic-Con. Plus: Enter our contest to win fabulous prizes! You can download the podcast directly, find it on Libsyn, or get it through iTunes, Stitcher, Google Play or your favourite podcast delivery system. In this episode Anna Ferri | Meghan Whyte | Matthew Murray | Jessica F Books We Mentioned Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Waters, Shannon Watters, Brooke A. Allen, and others Ooku by Esme Shapiro Princess Jellyfish by Akiko Higashimura B.R.U.H.: Black Renditions of Universal Heroes by Markus Prime The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevskii The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden Chew by  John Layman and Rob Guillory Tortall Universe (series) by Tamora Pierce Tempests and Slaughter (out February 2018) Tortall: A Spy's Guide (out in October) Alanna (the Song of the Lioness series) Wild Magic (the The Immortals series) Terrier (the Beka Cooper series) First Test (the Protector of the Small series which includes Page and Squire) Trickster’s Choice (the Daughter of the Lioness series which includes Trickster’s Queen) Circle of Magic (series) by Tamora Pierce My Brother’s Husband by Gengoroh Tagame G-Men (magazine): “G-men was founded in 1994 to cater to gay men who preferred "macho fantasy"” Gentlemen of the Shade: My Own Private Idaho by Jen Sookfong Lee Vi by Kim Thúy (I don’t think Meaghan actually named this one) The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin (out August 15th) Written in Red by Anne Bishop The Stars are Legion by Kameron Hurley God’s War by Kameron Hurley The Geek Feminist Revolution by Kameron Hurley (Meaghan misnamed this “The Geek’s Guide to Feminism”) The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley Red Spider White Web by Misha Nogha Moonstruck by Grace Ellis, Shae Beagle, and Laurenn McCubbin (here’s the Goodreads page of the first volume, but that’s not out until January 2018) Sumage Solution by  G.L. Carriger H.P. Lovecraft's the Hound and Other Stories by Gō Tanabe Links, Articles, and Things 24 in 48 Readathon The Book Riot Insiders Insider-Only Forum is where the Tamora Pierce readathon is happening My Own Private Idaho Criminal Minds Sailor Moon (anime) Hello Sailors by Moonage Kingdom (parody video of Hello Bitches by CL) American Gods (TV) The Dressmaker (movie) Fashion Police San Diego Comic-Con Comic Conference for Educators and Librarians Matthew was on Picture Books for Grown-Ups: Why Graphic Novels Matter to Adults Anna was on Read-Alikes: What to Suggest When Patrons Have Already Read Smile and The Walking Dead Questions Are there any “bicycles in space” books!? Do you like Princess Jellyfish? How are your reading resolutions for the year going? Contest To celebrate 15,000 total downloads of our podcast we’re having a contest! Retweet one of our tweets about episode 34 or (when it comes out) episode 35 of this podcast any time during August, 2017, and you’ll have a chance to win some books or comics! Prizes include Moonstruck #1, Moonshine vol. 1, I Hate Fairyland vol. 2, Howtoons: Tools of Mass Construction, Fierce Kingdom by Gin Phillips, Run by Ann Patchett, and Island of the Blue Dolphin by Scott O’Dell (plus probably some other stuff). We can neither confirm nor deny that this is extra stuff we have from ALA and other conferences. (Though all the above listed titles are unread.) Number of prizes will depend on number of entrants. Check out our Pinterest board and Tumblr posts, follow us on Twitter, join our Facebook Group, or send us an email! Join us again on Tuesday, August 15th, when we’ll be discussing Gardening! (And farming! And stuff about plants in general.) Then come back on Tuesday, September 5th, when we’ll talk about our favourite podcasts!

Listen to Episode 034 - Reading Resolutions now.

Listen to Episode 034 - Reading Resolutions in full in the Spotify app