This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Battling Corruption With Blockchain Technology: Tomicah Tillemann of the Blockchain Trust Accelerator - Ep.018

By Laura Shin

Many government officials have noted the potential blockchain technology has to fight fraud, waste and abuse. Tomicah Tillemann, cofounder of the Blockchain Trust Accelerator, assembled an intimate group of 18 people at the Rockefeller Foundation's Bellagio Center to discuss the ways in which blockchains can be designed in a way that fulfills the technology's most idealistic potential to combat corruption and democratize access, whether to the financial system, the ability to vote or to a self-sovereign identity. He discusses the Blockchain Trust Accelerator's work with a blockchain-based voting system in West Virginia, and with enforcing labor rights via blockchain-based contracts in a pilot with Coca-Cola and the State Department. Tomicah Tillemann: https://www.newamerica.org/our-people/tomicah-tillemann/ Blockchain Trust Accelerator: https://www.newamerica.org/bretton-woods-ii/blockchain-trust-accelerator/ The Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center: https://www.rockefellerfoundation.org/our-work/bellagio-center/ West Virginia Blockchain Voting Pilot: https://www.coindesk.com/west-virginia-piloting-blockchain-voting-app-in-senate-election/ Coca-Cola/State Department pilot on fighting forced labor with blockchains: https://www.reuters.com/article/us-blockchain-coca-cola-labor/coca-cola-u-s-state-dept-to-use-blockchain-to-combat-forced-labor-idUSKCN1GS2PY Thank you to our sponsors! Element Group: http://elementgroup.com/unconfirmed Token Agency: http://tokenagency.com/

Listen to Battling Corruption With Blockchain Technology: Tomicah Tillemann of the Blockchain Trust Accelerator - Ep.018 now.

Listen to Battling Corruption With Blockchain Technology: Tomicah Tillemann of the Blockchain Trust Accelerator - Ep.018 in full in the Spotify app