This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.



  1. 1.
    Won't Cry
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    Why Hide It
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
When it comes to Gabe Acheson, aka Goldwash, the clue really is in the name. The London-born, Baltimore-raised, LA-residing songwriter makes dance-while-you-cry music that sounds like what you might get by throwing the Dirty Projectors, the Talking Heads, and 2000's RnB into a blender.
He calls the sound “Existential Funk,” because “jazz-infused indie-electronic baroque-soul” was a bit too much of a mouthful. It’s really all to do with “turning shitty experiences into positive things,” by “goldwashing,” (aka gilding) pain into art, dealing with life's ups and downs through intricate yet relatable songwriting and composition.
A classical and jazz-trained pianist, Acheson studied composition and music theory at Yale while learning studio craft and songwriting on the side. He graduated from college and launched his career in 2016 by independently releasing singles and the LDR EP, which Pigeons and Planes described as “Dazzling sonic adventurism […] in the service of emotional truth.”
In 2017, Goldwash released the Episode EP with a feature on the cover of Spotify’s Fresh Finds playlist and support from Mass Appeal, Okayplayer, and Clash Mag. “Episode,” the title single, picked up momentum as the summer of 2017 wound down.


Related Artists

Listen to Goldwash now.

Listen to Goldwash in full in the Spotify app