Pop. 1280

Indebted to no wave and post-punk, Brooklyn's Pop. 1280 were started by Chris Bug and Ivan Lip in 2009.

Their first single, a creepy song about the bedbug epidemic in New York, set the stage for their follow-up EP, The Grid. Sacred Bones signed the group, and Bug and Lip expanded the group with bassist Pascal Ludet and drummer Zach Ziemann of Twin Stumps. Three months later, after an East Coast tour, Pop. 1280 returned to the studio to record their debut, The Horror, which was released in early 2012. For 2013's Imps of Perversion, the band worked with producer Martin Bisi (who also worked with Cop Shoot Cop and Swans), who helped them focus their fury into more cohesive songs. ~ Jason Lymangrover, Rovi