This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Explosion


  1. 1.
    Here I Am
  2. 2.
    No Revolution
  3. 3.
    I Know
  4. 4.
    God Bless The S.O.S.
  5. 5.
    Filthy & Insane
Boston punk quintet the Explosion was formed in the autumn of 1998 by vocalist Matt Hock, guitarist Dave Walsh, ex-In My Eyes bassist Damian Genaurdi, and drummer Dan Colby; the subsequent addition of former Trouble guitarist Sam Cave completed the lineup.
The group made its Jade Tree debut in 2000 with a self-titled EP; tours with labelmates the Promise Ring and Turing Machine preceded the summer release of the full-length Flash Flash Flash. The EP Steal This followed later that fall on Revelation, and by the year's end, Colby had been replaced on drums by Andrew Black. Extensive touring followed, with the band supporting such acts as the (International) Noise Conspiracy, Rocket from the Crypt, and Cave In. The Explosion returned to wax in 2003 with Sick of Modern Art, issued through their own Tarantula imprint, before the guys jumped to Virgin for their 2004 major-label debut, Black Tape. Recorded in December 2004, Live in Boston followed next. Cave exited the Explosion at the end of 2004 and was replaced by ex-Let It Burn guitarist Chris Gonzales. In February 2007, following the completion of their next effort, Bury Me Standing, the Explosion were let go from their contract with Virgin and began shopping around for a new label to release the record. That spring the band announced its breakup via a message on their website; final summer shows and an eventual release of Bury Me Standing were the Explosion's final gifts to fans. ~ Jason Ankeny, Rovi


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The Explosion now.

Listen to The Explosion in full in the Spotify app