This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Paul Mirfin Band


  1. 1.
    This Train Is Bound for Glory
  2. 2.
    Ain't No Grave
  3. 3.
    Ancient Roads
  4. 4.
    We Are Three
  5. 5.
    Trust in the Silence
The Paul Mirfin Band are a Knaresborough based group of musicians who are fast gathering momentum as one of Yorkshire’s most talented new sounds in music.
With a background working on the railways and childhood years growing up in Sheffield, Paul’s melodies and lyrics are full of Northern grit and honesty.
Trevor Raggatt - RnR Magazine 4* Review Ancient Roads Album
" Who knows what 'authenticity' really is, but clearly Ancient Roads has it. The title track opens with a compelling foot-stomp and hand-clap beat to which are added slide guitar, fiddle and full band. The result is that infectious, greasy blues tone which Robert Plant mined so effectively on the Raising Sand album. And yet the next track, 'We Are Three', serves up an upbeat, harmony-laden western-swing foot-tapper.
There is a gospel tinge to the lyrics that perfectly fits the mood of the music, whether down-and dirty country blues, folksily or the haunting, closing track, 'Trust in the Silence'. And Mirfin's voice is the perfect vehicle to deliver the emotions - a rich, husky baritone reminiscent of Steve Earle, which seems to carry enough life experiences with it to give weight to the words it delivers."
Paul Mirfin - vocals, acoustic guitar
Ben Mirfin - drums
Warren Timmis - lead guitar
Mark Boyle - banjo
John Evamy - violin
Images by Ed Fielding


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Listen to The Paul Mirfin Band now.

Listen to The Paul Mirfin Band in full in the Spotify app