Norwegian progressive/neo-psychedelic/jazz-rock trio Elephant9 formed in Oslo around the talents of keyboardist Ståle Storløkken (Supersilent), bass player Nikolai Eilertsen (National Bank), and drummer Torstein Lofthus (Shining).

The instrumental group's heady blend of mid-'70s Miles Davis, Deep Purple, and Medeski, Martin & Wood has drawn considerable praise from both the jazz and rock communities worldwide. Elephant9's debut album, Dodovoodoo, was released on the Rune Grammofon label in June 2008, followed by Walk the Nile in 2010. The band issued Live at the BBC in 2011, and the recording was greeted with nearly universal acclaim, garnering interest from across the rock and jazz press. When Elephant9 returned to the studio, they enlisted guitarist Reine Fiske (Dungen, latter-day Trad, Gräs och Stenar) as a collaborator for 2012's Atlantis -- he received co-billing. After an intense bout of touring, the members of Elephant9 took time away to focus on their other individual projects. Fiske was enlisted again when the band began recording sessions for a new album. In early 2016, Silver Mountain -- again co-billed -- was released by Rune Grammofon. ~ James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Do you have the Spotify app?