This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Olavi Louhivuori

Olavi Louhivuori (born 13 July 1981 in Jyväskylä, Finland) is a Finnish jazz drummer and composer, the leader of his own ensemble Oddarrang, and also performer within several other bands.
Louhivuori founded the Finnish experimental jazz ensemble Oddarrang in 2003. The band includes trombonist Ilmari Pohjola, cellist Osmo Ikonen, guitarist Lasse Sakara, as well as bassist Lasse Lindgren. Oddarrang's debut album Music Illustrated (2006), was awarded the Jazz-Emma award in 2006.
In 2008 he released his first solo album, Inhale Exhale, on Texicalli Records. This is a solo percussion album, where Louhivuori demonstrates his broad abilities. In 2014 Louhivuori released his second, critically acclaimed solo album Existence (Eclipse Records).
In 2017 Louhivuori started his ambitious 5 year project Immediate Music I-V on Svart Records, where he investigates different approaches to improvisation with five different line-ups.
Louhivuori also plays in the bands Ilmiliekki Quartet, Alexi Tuomarila Trio, Joona Toivanen, Olavi Trio and Elifantree. He has been involved in winning the Nordic Jazz Comets competitions three times: Joona Toivanen trio in 2000, Ilmiliekki Quartet in 2002 and Sun Trio in 2006. He was a long-time collaborator with a late trumpet legend Tomasz Stanko. In addition, he has played with, among others, UMO Jazz Orchestra, Marilyn Crispell, Anthony Braxton, Lee Konitz, Teppo Hauta-aho, Jukka Perko, Sakari Kukko and M. A. Numminen.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Olavi Louhivuori now.

Listen to Olavi Louhivuori in full in the Spotify app