The Shortwave Set


  1. 1.
    Yesterdays to Come
  2. 2.
    Now Til '69 - Aeroplane Remix
  3. 3.
    Glitches n Bugs
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
    No Social
This reclusive London, England-based trio comprises vocalist/guitarist Ulrike Bjorsne, programmer David Farrell and Andrew Pettit, who holds responsibility for the majority of the band’s songwriting.
Shortwave Set are deliberately obscure, and even their website gives no clue as to their origins. What is clear is that their formation in 2003 was soon followed by debut single ‘Slingshot’. Positive first impressions were further enhanced by the upbeat sequel ‘Is It Any Wonder?’, whose memorable chorus arrived early on their debut album The Debt Collection. No doubt so-called as the band was heavily overdrawn by the end of its making, the record was released in 2005 and included the singles ‘Figures Of 62’ and ‘In Your Debt’. Recording took place in the front room of the band’s Deptford base, using old records and broken junk shop instruments rescued from Greenwich market, all fed through a sampler where appropriate. Thus George Formby and the Waikiki Beach Boys received subtle electro funk makeovers, the smoky quality of Bjorsne’s voice their perfect vehicle. As such, songwriting and texture proved of prime importance and were carried out in a charming and subtly uplifting manner, with the band’s light sense of humour most evident on the closing track ‘Yr Room’, with Bjorsne’s stop-start vocal providing a genuinely funny note on which to end.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Listen to The Shortwave Set now.

Listen to The Shortwave Set in full in the Spotify app