The Funkstamatics

The Funkstamatics


Popular releases


Singles and EPs


Featuring The Funkstamatics

Fans also like

Artist Playlists


4,552 monthly listeners

The Funkstamatics (formerly known as Euro Cinema) are a funk group from the Netherlands, founded in 2008. Members are Tim den Heijer (guitar), Niels Piay (drums), Dennis Orsel (bass) and Rob Schepens (Hammond & vintage keys), often joined by Efraïm Trujillo (saxophone).

After their first demo was picked up by trend setting funk DJ’s including Maestro, the group started to build a solid live reputation with shows ‘dripping with excitement and fun’. They opened the Saint Paul Soul Jazz Festival in France, played aftershows for the Commodores and Kool & The Gang and jammed with Bootsy's Rubber band. Their debut vinyl single Brooklyn Groove was released by the Hammondbeat Records. Since, the band has released numerous singles, featured on compilations and released 3 albums, all presented at Amsterdam's legendary Paradiso. BBC legend Craig Charles handpicked the single Koekwaus for one of his legendary compilation albums. In 2015 the band changed its name (for reasons both legal and funky) from Euro Cinema to The Funkstamatics. On Lift Off, the first album under the new name, the band sounds rawer and more live than ever.