This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Frontier Ruckus


  1. 1.
    Dark Autumn Hour
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    Nerves of the Nightmind
  4. 4.
    The Latter Days
  5. 5.
Frontier Ruckus is an internationally-acclaimed band from Detroit, Michigan that incorporates elements of folk, bluegrass, power pop, and alternative country into their lyric-driven songs.
The band was formed by singer/songwriter Matthew Milia and banjo player David Winston Jones while in high school, and became a three-piece with Eli Eisman on bass. Milia then went to Michigan State University and Jones went to the University of Michigan, but instead of disbanding Frontier Ruckus, they expanded the band, adding Ryan "Smalls" Etzcorn on drums, Anna Burch on harmony vocals, and multi-dimensional musician Zachary Nichols on horns, singing saw, and melodica.
The band’s debut album, The Orion Songbook arrived in 2008 to significant critical praise. Following their first major tours of the United States and Europe, Frontier Ruckus signed to Ramseur Records in 2010 for the release of their second album, Deadmalls and Nightfalls. This signing brought greater exposure and performances at Bonnaroo and Lollapalooza. 2013’s sprawling double-album Eternity of Dimming and 2014’s Sitcom Afterlife added even more versatility to the band’s catalog.
Frontier Ruckus returned to the studio in 2016 with former Wilco drummer Ken Coomer in the producer's chair and on percussion. The resulting fifth album, Enter the Kingdom, was released at the beginning of 2017.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Frontier Ruckus now.

Listen to Frontier Ruckus in full in the Spotify app