This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Pulse Convention


  1. 1.
    Low Gravity
  2. 2.
    Walk up to the Dune
  3. 3.
    Viridian Moon
  4. 4.
    Sphere Fluid
  5. 5.
In 2006 Wataru IWATA (Piano and Fender Rhodes) started his project Pulse Convention with UEZI on drums before becoming a full band with the addition of Hiroshi NAKAMURA (Saxophone) and Noboru ANDO (Contrabass) in late 2007.
IWATA named and formed the band intending to express and show the generative reaction of each player to the surrounding atmosphere and that particular moment where they interact not only to the music but to the space of the notes filled to create a specific sound moment after moment. After a number of live events, concerts in clubs and bars, they stopped playing together at the end of 2008. Finally, Pulse Convention was revived in the fall of 2018.
This album captures that fresh moment of their reunion in a studio where they just improvised for a few hours. Here you have 9 tracks which travel between atmospheric contemporary jazz without having one member trying to be in front of the others. A real unity and pleasure transpire through the whole album as they never stopped playing together.
Photos by Ken Iwai


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Listen to Pulse Convention now.

Listen to Pulse Convention in full in the Spotify app