Rey Pila

Rey Pila


Popular releases


Singles and EPs

Featuring Rey Pila

Fans also like

Appears On

Artist Playlists


264,837 monthly listeners

Rey Pila formed in Mexico City in 2010 – their name means King Battery in Spanish. The quartet (Diego Solorzano, Andrés Velasco, Rodrigo Blanco & Miguel Hernández), specializes in synth-driven dance-rock – NME says they “sound like they were raised on a diet of The Cars, David Bowie and Kraftwerk.” In 2012 they relocated to NYC and started work on its second album at DFA Studios (home of LCD Soundsystem). That's when Julian Casablancas was hooked by their song “Alexander” and signed them to his Cult Records label. The Strokes singer produced three tracks on 'The Future Sugar' which finally emerged in 2015. Rey Pila hit the road with Interpol and Brandon Flowers and took a “less is more” approach to their 'Wall of Goth - EP’ (2017), also co-produced by Casablancas and Shawn Everett. The band then toured South America with labelmates The Voidz, also releasing a Siouxie & The Banshees cover (“Israel”) and opening Depeche Mode’s Mexico shows. In 2019, Rey Pila released their self-produced Lucky No.7 EP. Months later they were chosen by The Cure to open their Mexico City show at Foro Sol. In 2020, the band released their third studio album, Velox Veritas, co-produced by Dave Sitek (TV On The Radio). The album showcases various new influences and sees Rey Pila pushing the boundaries of their signature synth/rock sonics. Clash Magazine said "the band have a truly unique sound, a cultural cross-exchange that matches stellar songwriting to a diverse palette of influences".