Boulevard des Airs

Inspired by the classic French chansons of Jacques Brel and Georges Brassens, and the contemporary alt rock of Red Hot Chili Peppers and Rage Against the Machine, Boulevard des Airs are an eclectic French collective responsible for a melting pot of rock, reggae, jazz, ska, Latin, and Balkan sounds.

The band formed in the Hautes-Pyrenees town of Tarbes in 2004 when lead singer Florent Dasque and her brother, guitarist Jean-Noel, bassist Laurent Garnier, multi-instrumentalist Sylvain Duthu, and drummer Alix Buy were still at school. After later expanding to an eight-piece with the arrival of trombonist Jean-Baptiste Labe, clarinetist Kevin Poinas, and trumpeter Pierre-Emmanuel Aurousset, the band composed the soundtrack to the 2009 award-winning snowboarding film eMotion, building up a reputation as one of their homeland's best unsigned indie bands. After touring with the likes of Les Ogres de Barback, Babylon Circus, and Les Hurlements D'leo, they signed to Sony, and released their debut single, "Cielo Ciego," and its parent album, Paris-Buenos Aires, in 2011. It reached the Top 30 of France's album chart, and in late 2012, the band was nominated for a Victoires de la Musique prize (in the Révélation Scène category). Their follow-up, 2013's Les Appareuses Trompences, continued to incorporate international influences including prominent Latin rhythms and charted at number 31. Upon its release in 2015 via Columbia, their third LP, Bruxelles, returned them to the albums chart, where it hit the Top Ten. By then, Boulevard des Airs had adjusted their lineup, losing Poinas and Buy, and adding singer and saxophonist Mélissa Doya, keyboardist Jérémie Planté, and drummer Ivan Guevo. ~ Jon O'Brien & Marcy Donelson, Rovi

Do you have the Spotify app?