This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.



  1. 1.
  2. 2.
    Bloodstream - Quartet Session
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
    Miles To Go
  5. 5.
    Prism #1
Led by vocalist, keyboardist, and guitarist Chris James, the Leeds, England-based Stateless - a left-of-center, electronics-enhanced rock band that recalled Radiohead, Massive Attack, and Bjork in varying degrees - formed in 2003 with members James Sturdy (drums), Jon Taylor (bass), Roderick Buchanan-Dunlop (keyboards+programming), and Kidkanevil (turntables, programming).
Demos for "Exit" and "Prism #1" were picked up by BBC Radio 1 and earned the interest of Sony, where Stateless released the 2004 single "Down Here." The Sony-BMG merger brought an end to the band's major-label contract. They released the Bloodstream EP. Chris then contributed lyrics and vocals to two songs, "Erase You" and "You Made It," for DJ Shadow's 2006 album The Outsider. The band supported DJ Shadow's UK tour, and Chris performed vocals on Shadow's worldwide tour. Another short-term deal for Stateless yielded a self-titled album produced by Jim Abbiss (Adele) issued on !K7 in 2007. Matilda, a second album, was released on Ninja Tune in 2011, produced by Damian Taylor (Bjork) and featured strings from the Balanescu Quartet, it also featured a duet with Chris and Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond) called 'I'm On Fire. At that point in time, the band featured Chris, along with Kidkanevil (turntables, programming), David Levin (drums), and Justin Percival (bass, vocals).
Then came the Sixfold Symmetry EP (& acoustic sessions), produced by Stateless + Blue Daisy and mixed by Suneil Pusari.



Related Artists

Listen to Stateless now.

Listen to Stateless in full in the Spotify app