This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Matthew and the Arrogant Sea


  1. 1.
  2. 2.
    Big White Cloud
  3. 3.
    Mock Origami
  4. 4.
    It's Always Something
  5. 5.
    The Line
Matthew And The Arrogant Sea (MATAS) is an alt-folk/psychedelic pop act from Denton, TX. The band has received numerous accolades and notable press from around the globe since its inception in the early 2000s.
Heralded with praise from outlets such as Daytrotter, NME, Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, Stereogum, Good Morning Texas, and NPR, alongside the exuberant praise from their national debut, "Family, Family, Family, Meets the Magic Christian", in 2008—named one of the best records to be released in North Texas in the last decade. With the band's latest endeavor "A Series Of Dreams", MATAS takes a darker turn into newer and dreamier territories while maintaining (and improving upon) the sounds they had originally sought out with the 2008 release. Founder and frontman Matthew Gray is accompanied by Hagen Hauschild(drums), Blake Vickrey (bass), Tony Whitlock (lead guitar) who together form a wildly dynamic and deeply magical group capable of making the darkest of stories into beautiful ballads. With noteworthy players who accompany the band on occasion—clarinet, flute, sax, trumpet, vocals, keys—each and every show is a unique astral treat for your ears, if you will
Photos By StephiAM (
Head over to to stream our short, "A bump on the head in three parts"


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Related Artists

Listen to Matthew and the Arrogant Sea now.

Listen to Matthew and the Arrogant Sea in full in the Spotify app