This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Matthew Frederick

56 Monthly Listeners

Exclusive Spotify Playlists

Listen to Matthew Frederick and other great artists on exclusive Spotify playlists.

About this Artist

Posted By Matthew Frederick

Hailing from the Rhondda Valley in South Wales, singer, songwriter, composer and some-time television presenter MATTHEW FREDERICK blends a childhood love of the early works of Elton John and Billy Joel with more recent influences including Ben Folds, John Grant and Bon Iver to create a distinctive sound somewhere between Math-Folk and Cymrucana.

Releasing debut EP VENUS & MARS in 2012, Matthew has since made a number of radio and television appearances, collaborated with Ed Sheeran co-writer and Grammy award-winning Amy Wadge, and penned original music for Sony-signed Only Boys Aloud.

Recorded in front of an intimate crowd in December 2014, the following Spring saw Matthew release his LIVE AT LONG ROW album, before landing his own television show as the writer, presenter and co-producer of STAYLITTLE SESSIONS for MADE TV.

As a co-founder of BBC Introducing favourites CLIMBING TREES, Matthew has supported jazz supremo Jamie Cullum, performed with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and recorded at London’s legendary Maida Vale Studios in between two critically-acclaimed albums; 2013 debut HEBRON and follow-up BORDERS, shortlisted for the 2016 Welsh Music Prize.

Recently appearing at the likes of Green Man Festival, Festival No.6, The Hay Festival and Brecon Jazz, Matthew is currently working on an EP of classical compositions alongside a first full-length studio album, both earmarked for release in 2018.

+ Find out more at +

Where people listen

  • 1.
    London, GB
    9 Listeners
  • 2.
    Cardiff, GB
    7 Listeners
  • 3.
    Bristol, GB
    3 Listeners
  • 4.
    Pontypridd, GB
    3 Listeners
  • 5.
    Dagenham, GB
    2 Listeners
  • 6.
    Didcot, GB
    2 Listeners