This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Worthless Son-in-Laws


  1. 1.
    Sleeping It Off
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    Timaru Blues
  4. 4.
    New Shoes
  5. 5.
    El Condor Pasa (If I Could)
The The Worthless Son-in-Laws formed in Boone, North Carolina, in 2004, and comprises Jimmy Davidson, singer-songwriter (and former member of Vic Chesnutt's “Scared Skiffle Group”); electric-guitarist Rob Brown, bassist Rich Crepeau, and drummer Dave Brewer (also of Possum Jenkins).
Cat Catlett of Radio Free Americana says of Resplendent Verge: “Jimmy Davidson and friends from Boone NC have crafted another smart, literate collection of melodic indie-Americana/rock tunes worthy of a wide audience.”
Bill Hurley of the Alternate Root said of their last album, No. 8 Wire, “The songwriting by Jimmy Davidson with help from guitarist Rob Brown is through the roof here both melodically and lyrically, bolstered by a band that nails the songs with pinpoint perfection, floating from shades of Son Volt and the The Jayhawks to the The Connells... The vocal delivery by Jimmy Davidson is rock solid on what can only be deemed one of the most pleasantly surprising releases of the summer. This one rests near the very top of the ‘highly recommended’ list.”
The record features harmonies from Noelle Austin (Grow Well), Ashley Wright (Earleine), and Katie Boyette; piano and organ from Toma Fuller (Spoon Bread); and pedal and lap steel from Aaron Ballance (Tellico). The album was engineered and mixed by Scott Haynes (Bafoodus), Chris Pope (Unaka Prong), and Mitch Easter (Let's Active).
Album cover painting for Resplendent Verge (also shown in header) by Jeffrey Whittle.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The Worthless Son-in-Laws now.

Listen to The Worthless Son-in-Laws in full in the Spotify app