This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Dead Neighbors


  1. 1.
    Same Thing
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
    No Escape
  5. 5.
    Over It
Dead Neighbors is Sebastian Marquez on guitar and vocals, Owen Hunt on bass, and Hale Johnson on drums.
Their story begins on a street in Newtown, a neighborhood in Athens, GA, where Marquez and Hunt lived directly in front of a funeral home. Marquez called on friends Howard Stewart and Alex Addington, to work on a new project, and they drew their namesake from the departed residents down the block: Dead Neighbors.
Their debut self-titled record, released June 2015, was recorded in a bedroom underneath an Athens antique furniture store called Vic's Vintage and mastered in the bedroom of local musician/producer Terence Chiyezhan. In Winter 2016, Owen Hunt took over bass duties. Dead Neighbors forego the noisy jangle of their last record for eight stripped down compositions on "Less", due March 3rd, 2018.
The trio was compelled to make their second full-length a departure from the aesthetic of their self-titled, shaving weight from the production and shifting the focus on to darker themes. Oscillating from driving catchy refrains to an eight-minute ambient track, "Less" is led throughout by Marquez's stripped down guitar and vocals, whittled from the noisy scuzziness of the debut. Introspective anxieties of youth come to the forefront of Marquez's lyrics, and the progression of tracks follows a shift in focus of his internal struggles from the question of purpose to reckoning with the death of a loved one. At some points, he grants, it's "accidentally emo”.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Related Artists

Listen to Dead Neighbors now.

Listen to Dead Neighbors in full in the Spotify app