This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Able Sea


  1. 1.
    Living on the Land
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    View from Window
  4. 4.
    Summer Too Soon
  5. 5.
    Little Truths
The Able Sea, your friendly Texan shipmates on a techni-coloured voyage, have a sound that runs between folk and indie pop to psyche and classic rock.
Formed in Austin, Texas, in 2005, the band was born from the ashes of brit-popsters The Bigamy Sisters, Bigamy Sisters (1996-2005).
The Able Sea consists of Robert Fisher, Robert Pierson, and Alex Thompson. Drawing comparisons to early psych-rock, they craft songs and create a sound that takes that inspiration and makes something wholly different and fresh. Over the course of 4 albums they've had contributions from Derrick Fore (Farrago Ensemble), Kerim Peirce, David Morrison, Henna Chou, and many other Austin musicians. Engineer and final mix-master Brad Bell has been with the band on all the albums.
The 2008 self-titled debut album, The Able Sea, was described as “understated dark-pop, " music with "a distinct 1960s psych muscle," and songs that were "almost reverent, like prayers."
With the addition of Kerim Peirce on bass, and Derrick Fore on keys, The Able Sea II (2009) brought a harder edge to the songs and live shows. Expanding on their songwriting and studio process, the band recorded the epic 21-song double LP, Yr4 Pt5 (2012).
In 2017, the band revealed new levels to the rabbit hole of their eerily dreamscaped tunes with Living on the Land — a sonic, guitar-heavy, 10-song album that is a further exploration into their unique sound.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Related Artists

Listen to The Able Sea now.

Listen to The Able Sea in full in the Spotify app