This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The New Spring


  1. 1.
    Gershwin Wakes up Singing
  2. 2.
    The Glow
  3. 3.
    Gershwin's Invisible Year
  4. 4.
    The Moon
  5. 5.
    A Short Speech About Magic
The New Spring is the moniker of singer-songwriter Bastian Kallesøe. For six years he has been crafting elegant acoustic folk music combining picturesque lyrics, a unique style of guitar fingerpicking, and above all, timeless melodies.
The self titled debut The New Spring, which was recorded mainly in Bastian’s apartment, was released in 2011 and was a poetical study of love in its broadest sense. The second album Secret Armor was released the following year and here producer Aske Zidore (Oh No Ono, Choir of Young Believers) added a more complex layer of effects, piano and percussion that made Secret Armor stand out as a truly experimental folk album.
2014 was the year of The New Spring’s third album in just three years. The album, Late Bloomer, was recorded in just two days and in the recording process Kallesøe and producer Jens Ramon Murga Meinert (Figurines) strayed from using digital effects. The result was a fresh, more traditionally oriented sound that returned the songwriting to its most naked form.
Early 2018 will see Bastian Kallesøe return with his most ambitious effort yet. A new album, once again produced by Jens Ramon Murga Meinert, is due for release after two years in the making. The album is an ever changing landscape that combines an unsettled spirituality with elements from minimalist classical music as well as 70’s folk rock - and of course the trademark songwriting that is always at the core of The New Spring.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The New Spring now.

Listen to The New Spring in full in the Spotify app