With much influence from the '60s garage rock of 13th Floor Elevators, the raw, barroom indie rock of 1986 is made by Giorgio Angelini (vocals, guitar), Cully Symington (drums), and Drew Pennebaker (bass).

Angelini, who had been the drummer for indie pop band the Rosebuds, met Symington in Austin and the two jammed for three months before Angelini ran into old friend Pennebaker, whom he hadn't seen in ten years. Going through several second guitarists, the band remained a trio. 1986's first recording, a locally self-released EP, featured guests Jeff Pinkus from Butthole Surfers and Bill Elm from Friends of Dean Martinez. The full-length Nihilism Is Nothing to Worry About was put out by Palentine Records in July 2006 and features production and guitar by Mark Deutrom of Melvins and mixing by Thom Monahan (Pernice Bros, Silver Jews). ~ Kenyon Hopkin, Rovi

Do you have the Spotify app?