This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Destruction Unit


  1. 1.
    Bumpy Road
  2. 2.
    The World on Drugs
  3. 3.
    God Trip
  4. 4.
    Slow Death Sounds
  5. 5.
    Night Loner
Originally formed in 2000 by singer and guitarist Ryan Rousseau along with Jay Reatard and Alicja Trout, Destruction Unit are a psychedelic punk band based out of Arizona.
Chaotic and noisy, the band's sound features massively fuzzed-out guitars, pounding drums, and shouted vocals, taking punk's energy and anger and forcing it through a wall of distortion that's bent on reducing every eardrum it comes into contact with to ruins. The trio released a number of limited-run singles and cassettes before putting out its first proper album, Self Destruction of a Man, in 2004, followed by Pact of the New Flesh in 2006. Afterwards, the band would undergo a massive lineup change, with Rousseau recruiting his brother Rusty on bass, as well as two more guitarists, Nick Nappa and J.S. Aurelius, and drummer Andrew Flores. With a bigger, more raucous lineup in place, the band took its three-guitar assault into the studio, returning in 2013 with an EP, Void, as well as a full-length, Deep Trip, which was released through Sacred Bones in the summer of that year. Destruction Unit's thunderous on-stage assault was documented for the ages on 2015's Live in San Francisco, an installment in Castle Face Records' series of concert recordings from Bay Area performances. In September 2015, Destruction Unit emerged from the recording studio with another aural assault, Negative Feedback Resistor. ~ Gregory Heaney, Rovi


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Destruction Unit now.

Listen to Destruction Unit in full in the Spotify app