This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Crooked Mouth


  1. 1.
    Crossing The Rubicon
  2. 2.
    Strange Days
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
    How do we survive?
Crooked Mouth is the recording project of guitarist/songwriter Ken Campbell.
Based in Edinburgh, Scotland, Crooked Mouth has, somehow, managed to keep a pulse since 2001 and over 3 albums. In that time a core of musicians and vocalists have conspired to produce a distinctive, if hard to classify, sound. Joining Campbell (guitar) are regular contributors Tony Hodge (drums), Ali Mitchell (keyboards), Leen (bass), Kenny Haig (lead vocals) and Lynne Campbell & Eilidh Maclean (both backing vocals).
Earlier recordings also featured Simon Ellis (keyboards), Chris Stenhouse (bass) and Mike McCann (bass).
Guest slots have been taken by Mike Warren (cello on the 2007 release, Hold in the Sun) and, fresh from working with the Steve Hackett band, Rob Townsend (sax) on One Bright Midnight.
Some have attempted to attach labels to Crooked Mouth and suggestions of ‘an eclectic mix of post-modern, art and progressive rock’ are not uncommon. Ultimately, the labels are less important than the music and the band tends to see such debate as confirmation of achieving an individual sound.
The result, to date, is a collection of three distinct albums of music bound together by common threads: contrasting electric and acoustic guitars, lush keyboard and piano work and dynamic vocal harmonies, all underpinned by intelligent rhythms and a hint of electronics.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Related Artists

Listen to Crooked Mouth now.

Listen to Crooked Mouth in full in the Spotify app