This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The New Mendicants


  1. 1.
    If You Only Knew Her
  2. 2.
    Follow You Down
  3. 3.
    By the Time It Gets Dark
  4. 4.
    High on the Skyline
  5. 5.
    Out of the Lime
The New Mendicants are an indie pop supergroup begun by Norman Blake of Scotland's Teenage Fanclub and Joe Pernice of the American group the Pernice Brothers.
The two veteran songwriters first met in 2000 when their bands shared a bill together in London. Twelve years later they found themselves both living in Toronto and while rekindling their friendship, decided to form a new band. In early 2013, the duo recruited former Pernice Brothers drummer (currently with the Sadies) Mike Belitsky and wrote several songs intended for the film adaptation of their mutual friend Nick Hornby's book A Long Way to Fall. While none of the songs made it into the film, the group members were excited about the material and began recording the additional songs that would eventually comprise their debut album. Their low-key melodic songs blended key pop elements from all three members' primary bands while also recalling classic '60s pop like the Hollies and Peter & Gordon. Choosing to explore a D.I.Y. route for their first release, the Australia 2013 EP, they created a new label, XPT (short for Expat). Their next release, the single "A Very Sorry Christmas," was followed shortly thereafter by their debut LP, Into the Lime, in January 2014. ~ Timothy Monger, Rovi


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The New Mendicants now.

Listen to The New Mendicants in full in the Spotify app