This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.



  1. 1.
  2. 2.
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower
  3. 3.
    New Five
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
    If It Wasn't the Way It Is, Then It Wouldn't Be the Way It Is.
Yeahyeahabsolutelynoway!'s unique brand of instrumental music defies easy categorisation, bringing together elements of post-rock, jazz and ambient music in a radically distinctive way.
The unconventionally bass-less trio is led by guitarists James Brown and Sam Cagney (who share writing duties), with drummer Stephen Neville. Their debut album “Um..” (2013) was recorded over 3 days with Richard Belkner at Free Energy Device Studios in Sydney, with the band playing live in the same room. Given the material for this record, the band decided an all analog signal path was the best approach (including recording to tape) which lends the album a wonderful colour and depth that complements the improvisational nature and writing style of the band in this stage of their career.
In contrast, the band's latest release “Ah..” (2017) was created over a much longer time period; tracking started in January 2016, and the finished product was released exactly one year later. The album was recorded at Wizard Tone Studios (an Adelaide studio run by the band's guitarist James Brown, together with Jarrad Payne and Adam Page). This gave them the freedom and luxury to shape and craft the material in a completely different way to “Um..”. The result is an album that sounds unmistakably their own, containing once again something unique and distinctive – and a glimpse into the future of the bands evolving sound and aesthetic.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Listen to Yeahyeahabsolutelynoway! now.

Listen to Yeahyeahabsolutelynoway! in full in the Spotify app