Popular releases


Singles and EPs


Featuring Barricada

Fans also like

Appears On

Artist Playlists


324,190 monthly listeners

Spanish heavy metal band Barricada was formed in the early '80s by singer/bassist Enrique "El Drogas" Villareal, who was joined by ex-Némesis guitarist Javier Hernández, drummer Mikel Astrain, and ex-Kafarmaún singer/guitarist Sergio Oses, making their live debut in 1982. Soon, guitarist Alfredo Piedrafita replaced Sergio Oses. In 1983, independent label Soñua released the band's debut album, called Noches de Rock & Roll. On April 2, 1984, musician Mikel Astrain passed away, victim of a brain tumor. Drummer Fernando Coronado took his place. To celebrate Astrain's contribution, the group composed a song called "Pon Esa Música de Nuevo," included in Barricada's second album, Barrio Conflictivo, which was issued by RCA and followed by 1985's No Hay Tregua. After signing up to PolyGram, the rock act recorded No Se Que Hacer Contigo and Rojo, produced by Dennis J. Herman and released in March of 1988. A self-titled double album came out later, recorded live on January 19, 20, and 21, 1990. ~ Drago Bonacich, Rovi