Nicolas Jaar


Popular releases


Singles and EPs

Featuring Nicolas Jaar

Fans also like

Appears On

Artist Playlists


1,011,379 monthly listeners

Nicolás Jaar was born in New York and grew up in Santiago de Chile, the birthplace of his parents. Since 2008, he has released music under various guises spanning shades of pop, ambient, noise, and club music. He has worked on soundtracks for Jacques Audiard ('Dheepan'), Pablo Larrain ('Ema'), and most recently Dea Kulumbegashvili ('Beginning').

In 2019, Jaar assembled a group of 12 researchers (Shock Forest Group) in order to explore the history and future of a military complex-turned art institution in the Netherlands. The resulting exhibition, entitled "No Camouflage' (het Hem, 2019) uncovered the myriad layers of accumulated colonial, ecological and institutional violence that interlink on the site through archival media findings, data gathering, performances and sound installations. Jaar is part of the team at Dar Yusuf Nasri Jacir for Art and Research, a grass-roots independent artist–run initiative founded in 2014 located in Bethlehem, Palestine. Jaar transformed Dar Jacir’s food shack into a sound studio where he has held sound workshops for children and artist residencies. He has also held workshops at RCA Architecture Program (2021), Werkplaats Typografie, NL (2019, alongside research group SFG), 4x4 festival (Chiapas), Sonar Barcelona (2012) and Berklee College of Music, US (2015). He is a current member of performance ensemble ¡miércoles! alongside dancer and choreographer Stéphanie Janaina, and part of the band DARKSIDE alongside Dave Harrington.