1. 1.
    Lost Innocence - YAKUSHIMARU Etsuko
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    flower - Anna YAMADA
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
    dissolved - Miyu Hosoi
Born in 1975, Yu Ojima is a Drummer and Composer active mainly in the Tokyo area.
In 2005, he released Entomophonic, a solo drum album. Put together using a minimal combination of drums and effects, each track was inspired by a given variety of insect. The 13 species represented across the 13 tracks comprised a concept album intended as a sonic entomological field guide, and also constituted Ojima’s debut offering in his JImanica guise.
In 2006, Jimanica put together and released a DVD in collaboration with fellow drummer Itoken and the media artist Takashi Yamaguchi. This work received an honorable mention in the Digital music category at the 2008 Prix Ars Electronica. Every year since then, Jimanica has ventured on a European tour, as well as being invited to perform at various events in Korea, Singapore, Australia and elsewhere. In 2010, he played at the Mimi and Marsatac festivals in Marseille France and the Festival Scopitone in Nantes.
The third Jimanica album, Torso, was released in September 2012. The way it shifted the role of drums in pop music from the rhythm section to the forefront earned Ojima plaudits not just as a drummer, but also as a composer.
At present, whilst maintaining an active schedule of performance and releases with his own band, Jimanica continues to collaborate with and do remixes for various artists on the Tokyo scene and elsewhere.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Listen to Jimanica now.

Listen to Jimanica in full in the Spotify app