This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Black Horse Motel


  1. 1.
    Run, Rabbit, Run
  2. 2.
    Water to Whiskey
  3. 3.
    The Mountain and the Rust
  4. 4.
    Where the Money Comes From
  5. 5.
    The Apology
Philadelphia-born Black Horse Motel draws on traditional folk and Americana roots, blends in rock, country, and other influences, and ties it together with rich vocal harmonies.
Songs are built on the foundations of folk instrumentation and lyrics, and are elevated by an infectious blend of guitars, strings, drums and voices. The resulting sound is heart-breaking, foot-stomping modern folk.
In 2012, Black Horse Motel offered their first recording; a self-titled EP. They followed up with their debut full-length LP, Red Summer Spirit. The record released on March 1, 2013 to a sold-out crowd at Kung Fu Necktie in Philadelphia.
The next three years brought several lineup changes while the group continued to hone their sound and expand their fan base. The current 4-piece group is made up of Desiree Haney(cello/keys/vocals), Megan Manning (drums/percussion, vocals), Galen Fitzpatrick (guitar/dobro/vocals), and Ryann Lynch (fiddle/vocals).
In April of 2016, armed with a batch of fresh songs, the group headed into the famed Studio 4 in Conshohocken, PA. Teamed again with producer/engineer Ron DiSilvestro, the band recorded major tracks in 2 days. Overdubs and additional recordings were also done at Forge Recording in Oreland, PA. Finally, the finished product was mastered by the one and only Phil Nicolo.
After a successful PledgeMusic campaign, the band released their new 5-song EP, Parable, to major online outlets on January 13, 2017.



Related Artists

Listen to Black Horse Motel now.

Listen to Black Horse Motel in full in the Spotify app