This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Big Dopes


  1. 1.
    Shoulder Chips
  2. 2.
    Neurotic Generosity
  3. 3.
    Don't Get Up
  4. 4.
    Lazy Jane
  5. 5.
    Song of the Summer
"The trio’s songs combine a rich, moody low end courtesy Justin Catanzaro’s bass and Eddie Schmid’s rich vocals.
Intricate melodies and dynamic rhythms with the band, including drummer Ricky Brewer, [give] the songs a rare expressiveness and vibrancy. It’s guitar-based indie rock of a sort but one that seems as informed by the emotional resonance of R&B as by left field alternative rock." - Tom Murphy, QUEEN CITY SOUNDS AND ART
Big Dopes recalls the loose, lighthearted feel of 90s alternative and indie, like Built to Spill and The Glands. Lead songwriter Eddie Schmid (also of Denver dream-pop band Oxeye Daisy) uses a playful, conversational vocal style, singing through neuroses about long-distance relationships, being a houseguest, and wasting money on busted headphones. Veteran drummer Ricky Brewer lends a steady groove and harmonies, and Justin Catanzaro’s bass often takes the lead, playing energetic, melodic lines.
The band formed in 2017. After a year of gigging in the Denver area, they recorded their debut album, Crimes Against Gratitude, for a year with producer Paul Simmons (of Denver band Turvy Organ), which arrived on August 23, 2019.
The album features a slew of Denver musicians, and its shaggy camaraderie comes across distinctly in “Song of the Summer,” the album’s closer. Lela Roy—Schmid’s bandmate in Oxeye Daisy—contributed vocals and birdcalls; Ilya Litoshik of Turvy Organ chipped in acoustic guitar; and Josh Fuson, of Montropo, contributed congas.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Listen to Big Dopes now.

Listen to Big Dopes in full in the Spotify app