1. 1.
    Por Una Cabeza (Arr. for Stringquartet) - Carlos Gardel,
  2. 2.
    Tico Tico non fubá (Arr.for Stringquartet) - Zequinha De Abreu,
  3. 3.
    Air from Orchestral Suite No.3 in D major, BWV 1068 - Johann Sebastian Bach,
  4. 4.
    Rondeau from Abdelazer-Suite, Z.570 - Henry Purcell,
  5. 5.
    Let's Do It (Arr. for Stringquartet) - Cole Porter,
Founded in 2008, the Mercator Ensemble is a fixture in the German chamber music and concert landscape.
The unique orchestral sound of the four-piece string ensemble, caused by the instrumentation with a double bass instead of a cello, corresponds to that of the classic Viennese serenade quartets - the "party bands" of the 18th century. The golden "Viennese sound" is also the specialty of the four artists, who skillfully stage it with works from the Viennese classic, waltzes and operettas. The ensemble's typical velvety lively timbre is no accident. During their studies, the artists learned to love the Viennese music tradition and occasionally demonstrated their passion with the Vienna Philharmonic.
The Mercator Ensemble is characterized by an exceptionally elegant and lively interplay, supported by the double bass, which allows the ensemble to occasionally switch to the genre of jazz, building amazing musical bridges.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Listen to Mercator-Ensemble now.

Listen to Mercator-Ensemble in full in the Spotify app