This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Ocote Soul Sounds


  1. 1.
    Contigo Jamás
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    A Pesar La Vida - Chico Mann , Quantic
  4. 4.
    Pan y Circo
  5. 5.
    The Revolt of the Cockroach Peoples
Founded as a stylistically wide-ranging Latin-themed side project of Martin Perna of Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra, Ocote Soul Sounds often incorporates Adrian Quesada of Grupo Fantasma and is affiliated with Eighteenth Street Lounge Music, the label of Thievery Corporation.
Perna (vocals, saxophone, flute, guitar, organ, percussion), who founded Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra in 1998 and who also contributes to the critically acclaimed band TV on the Radio, made his recording debut as Ocote Soul Sounds in 2003 on Fruitmeat Records with the 7" single Divinorum. A year later he released El Niño y el Sol (2004), a full-length collaboration with Quesada (guitars, bass, drums), on Airesol Records; the album was reissued in 2005 by Thievery Corporation's label, Eighteenth Street Lounge Music (ESL Music), to much greater awareness. Critics took notice, particularly noting the album's wide range of styles (i.e., Afro-beat, salsa, jazz, funk, hip-hop, downtempo, lounge). In 2006 ESL Music released Tamarindio/Divinorum, a four-track 12" single featuring the title tracks along with accompanying remixes, and then in 2008 the label released The Alchemist Manifesto (2008), a second full-length collaboration between Perna and Quesada. By this point in time, Ocote Soul Sounds had evolved beyond studio-based side project status, functioning additionally as a dynamic live band with unique lineups based in New York City (where Perna resides) and Austin (where Quesada resides). ~ Jason Birchmeier, Rovi


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Ocote Soul Sounds now.

Listen to Ocote Soul Sounds in full in the Spotify app