This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Blue Velvets


  1. 1.
    Don 't Leave Me This Way
  2. 2.
    Falling for You
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
    Goodbye Romance
Formed at El Cerrito High School in Berkeley, California, USA, the Blue Velvets were comprised of John Fogerty (b.
28 May 1945, Berkeley, California, USA; guitar, vocals), Stu Cook (b. 25 April 1945, Oakland, California, USA; bass) and Doug Clifford (b. 24 April 1945, Palo Alto, California, USA; drums). Their live appearances were largely constrained to teenage hops until the trio was buoyed by the arrival of John’s elder brother, Tom Fogerty (b. 9 November 1941, Berkeley, California, USA; guitar, vocals). As Tom Fogerty And The Blue Velvets the group began appearing at local clubs, playing R&B and rock ‘n’ roll favourites. In 1963 they recorded a single, ‘Bonita’, which was issued on the local Orchestra label. The following year the quartet secured a contract with Fantasy Records who, mindful of the ‘British Invasion’, rechristened them the Golliwogs. In 1967 the band ditched this name in favour of Creedence Clearwater Revival.


Related Artists

Listen to The Blue Velvets now.

Listen to The Blue Velvets in full in the Spotify app