Erotic Secrets of Pompeii

Erotic Secrets of Pompeii


Popular releases


Singles and EPs

Artist Playlists


3,284 monthly listeners

WEIRD ROCK FOR STRANGE TIMES Winding transgressive post-punk and experimental art rock together like two ends of a fraying rope, Erotic Secrets of Pompeii bring together disparate elements - from industrial to world music. The vocals descend from baritone drawl to manic yelp as the music pivots from hooky, groove-based euphony to discord and angulation. Their music is charged with grotesque imagery and vivid symbolism, drawing from artists across different mediums, such as Lynch, Dali, Bacon, Blake, Cronenberg, Jodorowsky, Mapplethorpe. After the release of debut album ‘Witness in the House of Pox’ (2019), the band saw a dramatic line-up change in 2020, and with that a vibrant new energy. A slew of vibrant, dark singles were released throughout the pandemic, accompanied by artwork and videos made in collaboration with local Bristol artists. ESOP returned to the studio at the end of the year to record a fistful of new songs set for release in 2021. Erotic Secrets of Pompeii is comprised of Thomas Hawtin (vox), Tom Hackwell (guitar/synth), Sean Jones (guitar), Julian Port (bass), Alex Auld (drums). PRESS: "Very few people can pull off IDLES’ signature vitriol, or HMLTD’s glam romp, and combine it with a chaos all their own, but Erotic Secrets… do that very well indeed. Gloriously, in fact." Soundsphere Magazine "Erotic Secrets... have managed to create some of the most chaotic, disconcerting, fun and positively danceable music of the year." Independent Music News