This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Mexican Radio


  1. 1.
    Weird in L.A.
  2. 2.
    Yukio Mishima Suicide
  3. 3.
    Don't You Want Me
  4. 4.
    Magic Eye
  5. 5.
    Night of the Nihilist
Mexican Radio is a synth punk three-piece with high-energy songs inspired by bands like Cabaret Voltaire, DAF and Stereo Total.
They wear brightly-colored uniforms at all times, and their live shows come across like psychotic radio broadcasts from another planet - a relentless onslaught of sinister yet danceable grooves. They also host a monthly radio show on KCRW Berlin called The Mexican Radio Radio Show.
Singers/synth players Nathaniel Fregoso and Dyan Valdés are founding members of critically-acclaimed indie band The Blood Arm. Drummer /singer Hannes Neupert is formerly of Berlin garage band The Mokkers. The three played together in a German-language cover band of The Fall called Der Sturz, and decided to form Mexican Radio to write their own original music in a post-punk style.
The band take their name from the synthy new-wave Wall Of Voodoo song "Mexican Radio," which coincidentally features a sampled recording of Fregoso’s late father, a renowned Spanish-language radio presenter.
As part of Impression Recordings’ Re-Record project, the three-piece replicated the song ;Don't You Want Me’ in its entirety, even managing to line up the release date with the original single, which became Christmas Number 1 in the UK after selling over 1,560,000 copies. Releasing on November 27, 2020, the single will include an instrumental B-side alongside a behind the scenes look at the process of the technical replication of the song with producer Robbie Moore.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Listen to Mexican Radio now.

Listen to Mexican Radio in full in the Spotify app