This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Third Sound


  1. 1.
    For A While
  2. 2.
    Photographs - Anton Newcombe
  3. 3.
    Half Alive
  4. 4.
    You Are Not Here - Tess Parks
  5. 5.
    Nine Miles Below
Icelandic singer, Hákon Aðalsteinsson (formerly of Singapore Sling, currently touring in Brian Jonestown Massacre) kicked off his solo project, The Third Sound, with an album of dark psychedelia recorded while living in Rome, released in 2011.
Evolving into a solid lineup of surly musical henchmen now relocated to Berlin, the band's fourth and most refined album arrives via Fuzz Club records as an exploration of dark post punk, 60’s psychedelia and garage.
The new album called All Tomorrow’s Shadows was recorded over the harsh Berlin winter by the band themselves while locked away in their suitably minimal basement studio. Hákon, now collaborating more closely than ever on new material with Robin Hughes on guitars and Antonio D’Orazio on bass, together with drummer Fred Sunesen, delivers his trademark deep, haunting vocals over a more sparse and rhythmic backing than their previous outings.
it's a punchy yet flowing collection of 60’s psychedelia, hypnotic guitar drones, garage, motorik rhythms inspired by German music from the 70’s, or even Hey colder, harsher and darker sounds originating from the post punk era layered together and topped off by a surprisingly raw vocal from Anton Newcombe on the final album track, Photographs.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The Third Sound now.

Listen to The Third Sound in full in the Spotify app