This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Controversy


  1. 1.
    Speak To Me
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    Two Voices
  4. 4.
    Two Voices (Luxxury Remix)
  5. 5.
    Thirty Horses Gently Weep
Based in Los Angeles, CA, The Controversy is a collaborative music project between Laura Vall (lead vocals, keyboards), Thomas Hjorth (guitars, vocals) and Amy White (keyboards, vocals).
Their highly anticipated new single, 'Dirt', was released accompanied by a video, on October 17 2017. The band is collaborating with producers Dave Russell (Lady Gaga, PJ Harvey, Justin Timberlake) and Thomas Ross Johansen (Snoop Dogg, All Saints) for their upcoming album, to be released in 2018.
Influenced by artists like David Bowie, St Vincent, Radiohead, and Massive Attack, The Controversy's music has been described as a seamless mash up of electronica with psychedelic rock. The band has toured the United States and Europe, and were recently featured in the acclaimed Spanish newspaper, El Periódico.
The Controversy's last album, 'Don't Count On Me', was named an 'electronic art-pop masterpiece' by FourCulture Magazine. Their single 'Two Voices' was featured as KCRW's Today's Top Tune, and U&I Magazine named 'Queen of Chinatown' #1 Single of the Year. Bandcamp describes the album as 'moody pop music that's turning heads.' Yahoo! Music, Bullett Magazine, The Deli Magazine, El Periodico, Impose Magazine and LA RECORD (among others) have also featured and premiered their work.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The Controversy now.

Listen to The Controversy in full in the Spotify app