This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.



  1. 1.
    Dark Matter
  2. 2.
    Don't Listen to Me
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
    It's Easy to Feel Rotten
  5. 5.
Second albums are traditionally difficult to make, but Household didn’t realize quite how true that would ring when it came to making theirs.
As it turns out, Everything A River Should Be is a record that redefines who and what – and even why – the Minneapolis trio are. Anybody familiar with the music the band – vocalist and bassist Joshua Gilbert, drummer Matthew Anthony and guitarist Nathanael Olsen – made before will immediately hear the shift in sound of these 11 songs. While the urgency and sincerity of the raw and visceral post-hardcore they began life making remains, Everything A River Should Be is a collection of dense, dark and brooding songs full of a tense, glowering atmosphere.
“This is a pretty defining record for us,” admits Gilbert. “We’ve been a hardcore band for a while and this is our first transition into more of this rock/emo that we’re doing. Writing a record like this felt more true to who I am as an individual but also who our band is.”
Partially, the expanded, expansive sound is a result of the members getting older and their outlook and taste in music changing with age. These songs are slower, more forlorn, more introspective than anything the band has made before and there’s a sense of self-awareness about that as much as there is about these songs.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Household now.

Listen to Household in full in the Spotify app