This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Matthew Grouse


  1. 1.
  2. 2.
    I Scream at the Wind (I Hear No Answer)
  3. 3.
    Eye of the Storm
Matthew Grouse (b.1996) regularly combines media in his music and is often concerned with human frailties and finding the remarkable in the seemingly ordinary aspects of everyday life.
Another large source of inspiration comes from a variety of artistic disciplines, especially a love of film.
His music has been performed or workshopped by artists including: Royal Northern Sinfonia; Hebrides Ensemble; Red Note Ensemble; Nevis Ensemble; The Assembly Project; DeCoda Ensemble; Gildas Quartet; Dohnányi String Trio; Yaron Deutsch (e-guitar); Rolf Hind and Andrew Zolinsky (piano duo); Sinae Lee (pianist) and Lewis Banks (saxophonist)
Matthew's 10 Seconds for mixed ensemble was awarded the Dorico Award at the 2018 Scottish Awards for New Music. Other prizes include the 2017 Kimie Composition Prize, the 2016 Walter and Dinah Wolfe Memorial Award and an honorary mention in the IX Destellos International Competition.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Listen to Matthew Grouse now.

Listen to Matthew Grouse in full in the Spotify app