This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Huw Watkins


  1. 1.
    4 Romantic Pieces, B.150: I. Allegro moderato - Antonín Dvořák, Tamsin Waley-Cohen,
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    The Fruits Of Silence - Pēteris Vasks, Voces8,
  4. 4.
    Autumnal, Op. 14: Serenade - Oliver Knussen, Alexandra Wood,
  5. 5.
    Dance: I. First Movement - Oliver Davis, Kerenza Peacock, Paul Bateman
Huw Watkins is a Welsh pianist and composer. He attended Chetham's School of Music, Cambridge University, and the Royal College of Music, and his teachers included Peter Lawson, Robin Holloway, Alexander Goehr, and Julian Anderson.
He has performed with the London Sinfonietta, the Britten Sinfonia, and the BBC Symphony Orchestra, and he has been a guest artist at numerous festivals. He has also performed frequently for BBC Radio 3, and given recitals at the Barbican, Wigmore Hall, the Library of Congress, and the Smithsonian Institute. He has collaborated with his brother, cellist Paul Watkins, as well as with Alina Ibragimova, Daniel Hope, James Gilchrist, Nicholas Daniel, Mark Padmore, Sebastian Manz, Carolyn Sampson, Alexandra Wood, and Robin Blaze. A champion of contemporary music, Watkins has given major performances of works by Alexander Goehr, Michael Zev Gordon, Tansy Davies, Mark-Anthony Turnage, and Thomas Adès. He has recorded for Decca, Nimbus, EMI Classics, NMC, Wergo, Chandos, and Signum Classics.



Related Artists

Listen to Huw Watkins now.

Listen to Huw Watkins in full in the Spotify app