This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Dead Emperors


  1. 1.
    Power Is Law
  2. 2.
    In the Flood
  3. 3.
    Panta Rhei
  4. 4.
    At Daggers Drawn
  5. 5.
    Let You Die
Dead Emperors is a 4-piece rock/metal band from Iowa City, IA. The band formed as a trio in 2014, writing heavy, stripped-down metal, originally as Larson (bass/vox), Eric Dirks (drums), and Evan Chadwick (guitar).
The group released their self-titled, debut EP in 2016 and put out a music video to promote their first single, "Panta Rhei." Over the next year and a half, the band's sound evolved to include more layers and psychedelic textures while maintaining it's original heavy feel. The result was their second release, the "Ancients" EP.
After a year-long hiatus, the group re-emerged to play the 2018 Grey Area Festival in Lone Tree, IA, with a full length album in the works and it's fourth member, Claire Thoele (bass/vox), changing Larson over to guitar to fill out the current lineup. This third album, "The Beast," expands on the melodic aspects previously explored on "Ancients" while exploring themes of the coming apocalypse brought on by false prophets/lying politicians.
In 2019, due to a prolonged injury, drummer Eric Dirks was replaced by Tanner Williams. Dead Emperors are currently playing shows and working on finishing up new material with their current lineup.
All Dead Emperors releases are available for purchase on Bandcamp. Please follow us on Facebook and subscribe to our Youtube page for music videos and full album streams.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Listen to Dead Emperors now.

Listen to Dead Emperors in full in the Spotify app