This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Freeze


  1. 1.
    This Is Boston, Not L.A.
  2. 2.
    Talking Bombs
  3. 3.
    Broken Bones
  4. 4.
    American Town
  5. 5.
    World I Know
Punk band The Freeze formed on Cape Cod in late 1978. While usually lumped in with the Boston hardcore scene, The Freeze maintained a connection to their outside roots.
Nowhere was this more apparent than in the title of their debut single, "I Hate Tourists," released in 1980. They then signed to Modern Method Records, which featured the band on three compilations: Wicked Good Time, Vol. 2, This Is Boston, Not L.A., and Unsafe at Any Speed. Their debut full-length, Land of the Lost, was released in 1984 and was followed in 1986 by Rabid Reaction. They then took a 4 year hiatus, reemerging in 1991 with a new Double A sided single Bloodlights/Talking Bombs and a new album Misery Loves Company. They toured Europe to promote it and signed with Germany's Lost & Found label, with whom they'd release 3 more albums: Five Way Fury, Crawling Blind and Freak Show. In 1995 the band signed with Dr Strange and rereleased their back catalog as well as a 10" split with The Bollweevils before teaming up with the legendary artist/illustrator Edward Gorey, who designed both the front and back covers, for the 1999 lp One False Move. Clif Hanger, the band's singer and lyricist, continued with barious members. In 2010, Hanger relocated to Phoenix, got a new lineup , which included his old songwriting partner, guitarist Bill Close. In 2018, they signed with Slope Records. Together they wrote the 12 new songs on the album Calling All Creatures.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The Freeze now.

Listen to The Freeze in full in the Spotify app