This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Louise Farrenc


  1. 1.
    Nonet in E-Flat Major, Op. 38: III. Scherzo: Vivace - Consortium Classicum
  2. 2.
    Cello Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 46: II. Andante sostenuto - David Berlin, Benjamin Martin
  3. 3.
    Symphony No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 36: II. Adagio cantabile - North German Radio Symphony, Hannover, Johannes Goritzki
  4. 4.
    Etude in a Minor - Iryna Kryvych
  5. 5.
    Symphony No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 36: I. Adagio - Allegro - North German Radio Symphony, Hannover, Johannes Goritzki
Jeanne Louise Farrenc was the only woman who held a full chair at the Paris Conservatoire during the nineteenth century.
As a composer, pianist teacher and scholar, she was instrumental in the French scholarship that resulted in the renaissance of French music in the 1870s. Her compositions included a plethora of piano works -- fantasies, variations, etudes -- orchestral works -- overtures, symphonies, concertos -- and chamber pieces. Perhaps her most important written contribution was the "Air russe varie" which contained 30 etudes in all the major and minor keys. This was not their only strength as the structure and acumen of the pieces were equal to their technical merits. Farrenc's collections of etudes were so highly respected that they were adopted by the Paris Conservatoire as requisite studies for piano students. ~ Keith Johnson, Rovi


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Louise Farrenc now.

Listen to Louise Farrenc in full in the Spotify app