Twenty One Pilots

Twenty One Pilots were formed in 2009 by high-school friends Tyler Joseph, Nick Thomas, and Chris Salih.

The pop trio built an enormous regional following across Ohio and the Midwest, spurned on by constant energetic touring as well as shrewd use of interactive social media and reaching out to fans on a grassroots level. Twenty One Pilots self-released a debut album of their rap-infused high-tech pop, twenty | one | pilots, in 2010 before Thomas and Salih left the band in 2011 and Tyler Joseph carried on with new member Josh Dun. Later that year second album Regional at Best surfaced, the first with the new duo lineup. The duo also gained popularity through publicly releasing a series of videos made by their friend Mark Eshelman. In 2012 they signed to Atlantic Records subsidiary Fueled by Ramen, releasing the Three Songs EP in the summer of that year and working with Adele producer Greg Wells on Vessel, their debut album for the label. Vessel saw release in January of 2013, and the band was scheduled to support the album with international touring deep into the year. For the recording of their third album, the band opted to work with various producers on a nearly song-by-song basis. Working with Ricky Reed, Mike Crossey, Tim Anderson, and others, this process took them to studios throughout Los Angeles and London. The album, Blurryface, arrived in 2015. ~ Fred Thomas, Rovi