This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Rivers of Nihil


  1. 1.
    The Silent Life
  2. 2.
    Where Owls Know My Name
  3. 3.
    A Home
  4. 4.
    Old Nothing
  5. 5.
    Subtle Change (Including the Forest of Transition and Dissatisfaction Dance)
The Reading, PA quintet announced themselves as one of the most promising and forward-thinking metal bands in the world today with their first two releases, "The Conscious Seed of Light" (2013) and "Monarchy" (2015).
They will shatter all expectations with their third full-length, "Where Owls Know My Name."
Formed in 2009 by guitarist Brody Uttley, bassist/lyricist Adam Biggs, and vocalist Jake Dieffenbach, Rivers of Nihil quickly made a name for themselves in the death metal scene, attracting the attention of legendary DM titan Erik Rutan. Revered for his work as both a musician (Hate Eternal, Morbid Angel) and producer (Cannibal Corpse, Goatwhore), insisted on recording "The Conscious Seed of Light." They continued along this trajectory with "Monarchy."
"Where Owls Know My Name" reunites Rivers of Nihil with Monarchy producer Carson Slovak (August Burns Red, The Last Ten Seconds of Life, Candlebox) at Pennsylvania's Atrium Audio, the studio Slovak co-founded with Grant McFarland (Texas in July, Everclear) a decade ago.
Cover art was completed by Dan Seagrave. Painted entirely in rich earth tones, the cover anthropomorphizes our planet as a morose old man forever intertwined with a desolate landscape and imposing sky, the line between humanity and its home forever blurred. The existential angst of Seagrave's piece once again serves as a perfect mirror for Rivers of Nihil's music.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Rivers of Nihil now.

Listen to Rivers of Nihil in full in the Spotify app