The Northern Belle


Popular releases


Singles and EPs

Featuring The Northern Belle

Fans also like

Artist Playlists


7,897 monthly listeners

Popmatters: «One of Americana's biggest head-turners in 2020 hails from Norway.» NPR – All Songs Considered: «A sparkly and timeless batch of songs.» Building upon the success of their recent third album The Northern Belle continue to release music. We Wither, We Bloom was released on August 28th 2020 to widespread praise. Outlets such as NPR - All Songs Considered, American Songwriter, Parade Magazine, Wide Open Country and Cowboys & Indians have all praised the band’s unique Nordicana sound, clever lyrics and energy. After meeting at Oslo’s Nordic Institute of Stage and Studio in 2012, members Stine Andreassen (lead vocals/guitar), Ole-Andre Sjøgren (guitar/mandolin), Bjørnar Ekse Brandseth (dobro/pedal steel guitar), Johanne Flottorp (Hardanger fiddle), Marie Tveiten (percussion/guitar), Yngve Jordalen (bass) and Svein Inge Bjørkedal (drums) came together to form The Northern Belle. In 2015, they released The Northern Belle, their self-titled debut record, which earned them widespread media coverage and major festival slots. In 2017, they released their highly-anticipated followup Blinding Blue Neon, which earned a Spellemann Award (Norwegian Grammy) nomination for Best Country Album. These releases positioned The Northern Belle at the forefront of the burgeoning “Nordicana” scene that is also anchored by artists and bands like Silver Lining (which Andreassen is also a member of), Malin Pettersen, Darling West, Signe Marie Rustad, Louien and more.